The Perfect Storm

 Why is it that you are not allowed to say anything that may be percieved as being negative without hearing “SL is what you make it,” at least 3 times. “Great insight, tell me something I do not know?” I am at a place right now where I do not feel like spending a  lot of time in SL. I mentioned this to someone this morning in these exact words. “SL is boring.”  The retort: “SL is what you make it.” Not once, but twice I was told this. As if it is not acceptable for anyone to be bored with SL.

First of all, I see my boredom with SL as a good thing. If SL is boring to me then I waste less time there. I have always struggled with balancing my RL and SL. That is not an issue for me right now, so to me it is a good thing that SL is boring.

 “There is plenty to do in SL, you have to find things to do.”  Why would I want to “find” things to do in Sl when I can “find” more meaningful things to do in RL?  To me, right now I am in the perfect storm.  I am not struggling to find balance between RL and SL.

Furthermore, there are only 2 reasons I log into SL, and they know who they are.  I am just in a place right now where I am not going to log on and wait around for them to log on. If I see one of them online, I will log in and say hi, but I am not going to hang out in SL all day waiting for them either. If I get a chance I will chat with my other friends while I am there, but I am not going to hang out just for the sake of hanging out. I hope no one is offended by this blog but it is my blog and this is how I feel right now.

About raynhalfpint

Webster's defines addiction as "surrendering oneself to something obsessively or habitually."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Storm

  1. And a damn fine blog it is 😉

    I’m at a similar point in some ways. There are things I want to do in SL, there are people I want to spend time with in SL. Being in SL just for the sake of being in SL though, I’m not so sure anymore.

    Still not sitting on any chairs though 😛

Leave a Reply

